Marmalade

image

Baking has always been fun for me. As anyone who knows me is aware, I have a few recipe books… Recently I bought a copy of Leon book 2. I tried a couple of savoury dishes from it but kept being drawn back to the marmalade recipe. I’ve made jam once before (someone I know had a glut of plums) and very nice it was too. However I’ve always thought gluts were the reason for jam; buying vast quantities of expensive strawberries just doesn’t seem quite so thrifty.

The Leon lemon & lime marmalade recipe was different, it just needed a few lemons, limes and grapefruits. Having a small kitchen and minimal storage space I decided to halve the recipe. A good plan too as the boiling stage got quite close to the lip of my biggest pan. The recipe was easy to follow and I do like a bit of chopping (slicing peel into shreds is really therapeutic, or is that just me?)

Four sterilized jars were filled and I could barely wait to try it. Breakfast the next day was marmalade on toast and thankfully delicious!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marmalade

  1. rfharrison says:

    My first attempt at using the HTC Rhyme (that O2 gave me) to blog using the WordPress app. Surprisingly easy to use.

  2. M&D says:

    Suddenly for some reason I want marmalade on toast 😛

Leave a Reply

