Colour in Knitting

Day 1 of Knitting & Crochet Blog Week
(See eskimimimakes for details)

image

During my teenage years I didn’t really *do* colour. I wasn’t a goth but felt most comfortable in black. I still tend to buy fairly monochrome colours – perhaps it’s due to being an 80s baby – neon shellsuits have a lasting effect…

Since getting into knitting a few years ago I’ve been more colour conscious. Some of my favourite bloggers seem to go for psychedelic hues but it is the subtler colours that fascinate me. Both these hats use distinct colour combinations to great effect but in very different ways.

Sheep Heid (a design by Kate Davies) uses all 9 natural shades of Jamieson and Smith Shetland Supreme Jumper Weight. It was weirdly addictive to knit as a lot of the colours are hard to distinguish in the ball but on the needles they started coming to life.

image

9 hues of brown

In contrast the other hat had no grand plan behind it. I’d seen a plethora of ripple blankets in blogland and decided I finally needed to learn to crochet. I had a ball of Noro Silk Garden sock yarn, not being willing to buy enough wool to make a blanket I decided to start with a hat. I couldn’t find a pattern so just made it up as I went along. It was fun to see each new colour emerge for a couple of rounds and then disappear.

Knitting and crochet are a great way of getting some colour in my wardrobe. I might never buy clothes in 9 hues of brown, or in green, purple and pink, but somehow they look nicer in yarn shops. If it doesn’t work out how you planned, there is probably someone out there who would love that splash of colour.

So be adventurous, why not try knitting a colour new to you, you might just like it.

image

Cherry blossom

This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colour in Knitting

  1. M&D says:

    Looking forward to seeing you in a rainbow jumper soon then 😉

Leave a Reply

