Something a Bit Different

The topic for day 4 of the 3rd Annual Knitting and Crochet Blog Week that Eskimimimakes set up, is Something a Bit Different. My plan was to do something really exciting with stop-motion but it’s been a long week and I’m a bit tired. So instead I will talk about how knitting inspires me to be creative in different mediums, in particular sewing.

Sewing is something I’ve dabbled in for years, far longer than I’ve been knitting. However, knitting has given me new enthusiasm for sewing as it means I can sew *for* my knitting. This may seem a little over-protective but it’s handy to have a bag perfectly designed for me and my knitting. No velcro or zips to catch the yarn, a couple of compartments to keep things separate. Most importantly of all, a fun fabric!

So here is my knitting bag, ideal for transporting a work-in-progress, a book or two and maybe even some sweeties.

I made it out of IKEA fabric as it was nice and sturdy and slightly water-resistant. I lined it with some pretty floral cotton I had lying around. The shape was just made up as I went along really but it seems to work quite nicely as a knitting bag/shoulder bag.

This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

