Something a Bit Different

For today’s Knitting & Crochet Blog Week challenge, the theme is “Something a Bit Different.” Since my blog is normally very personal, I thought I’d challenge myself by getting someone else involved. I asked my lovely friend Kate if she’d mind being interviewed for the greater good. She very kindly agreed, so please find below my first knitty-bloggy-interview!

When did you first learn to knit and who taught you?
I first learned to knit when I was about 10 or 11. My mom taught my friend Lisa and I basic knitting and crocheting skills for fun.

Did you continue knitting or did you take it up again after a break?
I am a very sporadic knitter, so there was a gap of about 8 years before I started really knitting again. Again, it was with my mom and also my Aunt, and all three of us went to a local knitting group in Sacramento, CA.

What do you like most about knitting?
I love being able to MAKE something!!! Seeing a recognizable shape emerging from the gorgeous wool is so exciting (and gratifying!)

What do you like least about knitting?
I think I am a bit impatient and sometimes it feels like ages before things can be finished:)

What are you knitting currently?
I am currently knitting a lovely striped baby sweater.

What are your thoughts on the knitting community (real world/online/books/etc)?
This may sound silly, but I feel connected to knitters all over and that there is a global community of knitters (I guess this sense comes from online sites, knitting books, and friends on either side of the pond). Individual friends that I have are a great support for suggestions or inspiration, local knitting shops and groups are fun for supplies, browsing, chatting and help, and globally, it is great to know that great yarns and patterns originate all over the globe.

 

Thank you Kate for being my blog-guest! I was thinking recently about how many knitters I know. I have quite a few friends who knit but sadly, having moved recently, they’re all far away. Luckily the knitting community means I can find new knitters wherever I go. A local knitting group provides company, tips and inspiration. Online there are so many fantastic blogs, websites and podcasts. Although I love knitting and making things, I do think it is the community that keeps me hooked.

This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something a Bit Different

  1. Karen says:

    Excellent interview!

  2. You are right about the internet. I love it. I have found many great people throygh it. It is however addictive and eats up time!

Leave a Reply

